Still time to enter Whakamānawa ā Taiao – Environmental Awards

12 Jun 2023, 10:52 AM

There’s still time to enter the fifth annual Northland Regional Council Whakamānawa ā Taiao – Environmental Awards which recognise individuals, groups and organisations who are helping to protect and improve Northland’s environment.

The awards recognise the people and organisations making a difference for Northland’s environment.

Big or small, one-man band or part of a group – we want to hear from you! It’s important we take the time to reflect and celebrate wins on our collective journey to protect, restore and improve our taiao.

People can nominate themselves or others in up to two of the awards’ nine categories. Entries close Sunday 18 June.

The nine categories are:

  • Environmental action in the community
  • Environmental action to protect native life (Previously 'Environmental action in pest management')
  • Environmental action in education
  • Environmental action in water quality improvement
  • Environmental action in industry
  • Environmental leadership
  • Youth environmental leader
  • Environmental action to address climate change
  • Kaitiakitanga

Category winners will receive a prize package containing $1000 cash, a handcrafted trophy designed by local artist, and a professional project promotional video and photography package.

The awards’ highest recognition is the ‘Te Tohu Matua – Supreme Award’ which all category winners are eligible for.

This year also sees the return of the Kiwi Coast Award for Outstanding Group or Project. The award recognises high achieving Northland groups and projects that have proven their commitment to restoring the health of their local native forests and wildlife, including kiwi.

The winner of the Kiwi Coast award will take home a $500 cash prize and trophy crafted by a Northland designer.

More information about the awards is available from: