Twenty-four put names forward for regional council

15 Aug 2022, 1:38 PM

Twenty-four people have put their names forward for nine seats on the Northland Regional Council at October’s local body elections.

An official candidate nomination period began on 15 July and closed at noon on Friday 12 August.

Electoral Official Christine Taylor says provisionally 24 people have been nominated for the regional council, however, due to only one nomination being received for the Coastal South General Constituency the sole candidate, Rick Stolwerk, would be declared elected unopposed.

That left 23 people contesting the remaining eight seats on council; six general seats and two Māori seats within the Te Raki Māori constituency.

The nominees are (alphabetically by surname):

Bay of Islands-Whangaroa General Constituency (one vacancy);
Phil Gentry, Peter Gill, Tania McInnes, Marty Robinson

Coastal Central General Constituency (one vacancy);
Paul Dimery, Amy Macdonald, Christine Woods

Coastal South General Constituency (one vacancy);
Rick Stolwerk* *(elected unopposed)

Far North General Constituency (one vacancy);
Justin Blaikie, Joe Carr, Clyde Samson, Marty Yuretich

Kaipara General Constituency (one vacancy);
John Blackwell, Penny Smart

Mid North General Constituency (one vacancy);
Lesley Adcock, Geoff Crawford, John McCaw, William Sullivan

Te Raki Māori Constituency (two vacancies);
Lance Bryers, Robin Grieve, Peter-Lucas Jones, Tui Shortland

Whangarei Central General Constituency (one vacancy);
Jack Craw, Tony Savage.

Ms Taylor says formal nomination results will be announced by public notice on Wednesday 17 August.

Voting documents will be sent out from 16 September 2022 and must be received by the Electoral Officer by noon on election day, 08 October 2022.