Nineteen stand for regional council

13 Aug 2016, 11:32 AM

Nineteen people have been nominated to contest the nine seats available on the Northland Regional Council at this year’s local body elections in October. 

Regional council Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske says nominations for candidates officially opened Friday 15 July and closed at noon today. 

Mr Ofsoske says 19 people have been nominated to contest the Saturday 08 October elections.  That compared to 32 who stood for the regional council at the last elections in 2013.

Voters will choose nine regional councillors representing seven constituencies across the North; Te Hiku, Hokianga-Kaikohe, Coast North (two councillors), Coastal Central, Whangarei Urban (two councillors), Coastal South and Kaipara.

The full list of this year’s candidates in alphabetical order by constituency is:

  • Coastal Central constituency (one vacancy);
    Gavin Dawson, Paul Dimery, Paul Doherty. 
  • Coastal North constituency (two vacancies);
    Dover Samuels, Bill Shepherd, Jocelyn Yeoman. 
  • Coastal South constituency (one vacancy);
    Craig Brown, Rick Stolwerk. 
  • Hokianga-Kaikohe constituency (one vacancy);
    Justin Blaikie, Joe Carr. 
  • Kaipara constituency (one vacancy);
    Sarah Kennett, Penny Smart, Rob Stevenson, Mark Vincent. 
  • Te Hiku constituency (one vacancy);
    Mike Finlayson, Monty Knight. 
  • Whangarei Urban constituency (two vacancies);
    John Bain, Paul Gosling, David Sinclair.

 Voting documents will be sent out from Friday 16 September and must be returned in the envelope provided by noon on Election Day, Saturday 08 October. 

Information about the elections generally is available from the council’s website via