Environmental Awards 2019

About the awards

Right across our beautiful region, amazing work is happening in our communities to protect and enhance our unique environment.

The inaugural Northland Regional Council Environmental Awards are about recognising the people and organisations making that work happen.

It’s a chance to highlight the can-do attitudes and incredible contributions that Northlanders are making to help our environment thrive – and we think that’s well worth celebrating.

Recognising people and organisations working in our communities to protect and enhance our unique environment.

Why enter

It’s time we recognise the people who are making a difference to Northland’s environment. We want to celebrate you, our community of Taitokerau.

Share your successes

Be recognised for the great work you are doing to protect, enhance and improve the environment of Taitokerau. We’re so busy getting the mahi done that we sometimes forget to celebrate and recognise the people, projects and teams who are responsible for making outstanding contributions to our environment.

Raise your profile

Promote and showcase to Northland your community, project and contribution. If you’re keen to get more people involved, or just raise the profile of your mahi, the awards will highlight all finalists and winners.

Meet like-minded people

You will have the opportunity to share ideas and expertise with the wider Northland community. Connect with your peers, learn new skills and share innovative ideas.

Recognition and reward

The winners of the awards will be announced and celebrated at an awards ceremony on Thursday, 23 May 2019. The event will provide an opportunity to network and share success stories.

All Northland Regional Council Environmental Awards finalists will receive:

  • Four tickets to the awards function in Whangārei on Thursday, 23 May 2019
  • Certificate of achievement
  • Inclusion in the awards collateral and communications programme.

Award winners in each category will receive:

  • A trophy and certificate of achievement
  • Inclusion in the awards collateral, media and communications programme
  • A cash prize of $1000

An additional trophy will be presented to the Supreme Award winner who will hold this for one year.

2019 Award categories

There are eight categories to cover the broad range of environmental enhancement projects and activities happening in Taitokerau. A Supreme Award will also be presented for the most outstanding entry.

Environmental action in the community:
This award recognises individuals or groups who are working collaboratively within their community to protect and improve Northland’s environment.

Environmental action in pest management:
This award recognises individuals or groups who are committed to projects and activities that support pest management in Northland.

Environmental action in education:
This award recognises those in the education sector that are driving learning and action to bring about change on environmental issues. The award is specific to schools, kura Māori, early childhood centres or tertiary institutions, and can include the whole school, groups or individuals.

Environmental action in water quality improvement:
This award recognises individuals, groups and businesses who are taking action to protect and enhance water quality and biodiversity values within water bodies in Northland.

Environmental action in industry:
This award recognises businesses that demonstrate sustainable practices which contribute to the sustainable development of natural resources in Northland.

Environmental leadership:
This award recognises an individual or group whose leadership, support of others and willingness to share ideas and resources is making a significant contribution to Northland’s environment.

Environmental innovation:
This award recognises those who have demonstrated innovation and initiative in protecting, restoring or enhancing Northland’s environment.

This award recognises the unique relationship tangata whenua have with natural and physical resources in accordance with tikanga Māori, and is open to whānau, hapū, iwi and Māori organisations.

Supreme Award

This award will be given for the most outstanding achievement from the eight category winners.

Enter awards

Step one – Choose your category
Before you begin your application, choose your award category. You can submit a nomination for a maximum of two categories.

Step two – Draft your entry
Now you’ve chosen a category, it’s time to draft your entry. We suggest doing it in a Word document, ensuring you answer all the questions in the application form.

Step three – Enter online
When you have your draft entry ready, copy and paste the content into the relevant fields in the online form.

Step four – Confirmation
Thanks for sharing your story. You’ll receive an email letting you know we have received your application and outlining the judging process.

Nomination pack

All the information you need to know about entering the awards, categories, key dates and terms and conditions can be found in the nomination pack.

Contact us

If you have any queries about entering, categories, dates, awards ceremony or require any further information please get in touch.

Marketing and Engagement team
P (09) 470 1200