Seven to contest Te Hiku council seat

22 Dec 2014, 12:50 PM

Seven people have put their names forward to contest the Northland Regional Council Te Hiku seat left vacant by the October death of Councillor Dennis Bowman.

Cape Reinga, Te Hiku constituencyCape Reinga, Te Hiku constituency

Independent contractor Election Services, which is handling the by-election for the regional council, says an official nomination period for those wishing to stand closed at noon today.

Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske says those nominated are:

BAINBRIDGE, Sheryl; Kaeo

BASSETT, John Edward (independent); Herekino

FINLAYSON, Mike (independent); Kaitaia

KING, Fiona; Awanui

KING, Mike ; Coopers Beach

KNIGHT, Monty (independent); Kaitaia

TAHANA, JT (independent); Awanui.

Mr Ofsoske says all resident electors and non-resident ratepayer electors of the Te Hiku Constituency whose names are on the latest electoral roll are eligible to vote.

Postal voting documents will be mailed to all eligible voters from Tuesday 27 January. The voting period is three weeks from then until noon on Tuesday 17 February.

A polling place for the issuing of special voting documents and receiving completed voting documents will also be available over that same period from regional council's Kaitaia and Whangarei offices.

"Preliminary results will be known as soon as practicable after the close of voting and will be accessible on council's website via: and the successful candidate will be officially declared on Wednesday 25 February.