Environmental Awards

About the awards

Right across our beautiful region, amazing work is happening in our communities to protect and enhance our unique environment.

The Northland Regional Council Whakamānawa ā Taiao – Environmental Awards are about recognising the people and organisations making that work happen.

They highlight the can-do attitudes and incredible contributions that Northlanders are making to help our environment thrive.

This year we’re excited to introduce a brand new category, to recognise those taking action to adapt to climate change and transition to a low carbon future.

Why enter?

The awards are an opportunity to acknowledge and showcase the significant effort made by mana whenua, individuals, groups, schools, and communities across Taitokerau.

Celebrate your successes

Be recognised for the great work you are doing to protect, enhance and improve Northland’s environment.

Raise your profile

Promote and showcase your community, project and contribution. The awards will highlight all finalists and winners, so whether you’re keen to get more people involved, or just want to raise the profile of your mahi, you’ll benefit from the promotional opportunities the awards offer all finalists and winners.

Meet like-minded people

You will have the opportunity to share ideas and expertise with the wider Northland community, connect with your peers, learn new skills and share innovative ideas.

Recognition and reward

The award winners will be announced and celebrated at an awards ceremony on Thursday, 27 May 2021. The event will provide an opportunity to network and share success stories.

* The awards ceremony taking place is subject to national Covid19 pandemic alert levels.

All Northland Regional Council Environmental Awards finalists will receive:

  • Up to four tickets to the awards function in Kerikeri on Thursday, 27 May 2021
  • A certificate of achievement
  • Inclusion in the awards’ collateral and communications programme.

Award winners in each category will receive:

  • A trophy and certificate of achievement
  • Inclusion in the awards’ collateral, media and communications programme
  • A cash prize of $1000.

An additional trophy will be presented to the Supreme Award winner who will hold this for one year.

2021 Award categories

There are eight categories to cover the broad range of environmental enhancement projects and activities happening in Taitokerau.

A new Environmental action on climate change category has been included to recognise action taken to adapt to a changing climate in Northland.

Read the media release '2021 environmental champions sought'

Environmental action in the community:
This award recognises individuals or groups (paid or voluntary) who are working collaboratively within their community to protect and improve Northland’s environment.

Environmental action in pest management:
This award recognises individuals or groups who are committed to projects and activities that support pest management in Northland.

Environmental action in education:
This award recognises those in the education sector who are driving learning and action to bring about change on environmental issues. The award is specific to schools, kura Māori, early childhood centres or tertiary institutions, and can include the whole school, groups or individuals.

Environmental action in water quality improvement:
This award recognises individuals, groups and businesses who are acting to protect and enhance water quality and biodiversity values within water bodies in Northland.

Environmental action in industry:
This award recognises businesses that demonstrate sustainable practices which contribute to the sustainable development of natural resources in Northland.

Environmental leadership:
This award recognises an individual or group whose leadership, support of others and willingness to share ideas and resources is making a significant contribution to Northland’s environment.

Environmental action on climate change:
This award recognises individuals or groups who are taking action to adapt to a changing climate and transition to a low-carbon future for Northland.

This award recognises the unique relationship tangata whenua have with natural and physical resources in accordance with tikanga Māori, and is open to whānau, hapū, iwi and Māori organisations.

Supreme Award:
This award will be given for the most outstanding achievement from the eight category winners.

Enter awards

All the information you need to know about entering the awards, categories, key dates and terms and conditions can be found in the Guide to entering.

Guide to entering - Environmental Awards 2021 (PDF, 7MB)

Step one – Choose your category
Before you begin your application, choose your award category. You can submit a nomination for a maximum of two categories.

Step two – Draft your entry
Complete the relevant fields in the online form. Use the ‘save and return’ function to save your progress.

Step three – Enter online
You’ll receive an email letting you know we have received your application and outlining the judging process.

Applications close 5:00pm Tuesday, 6 April 2021.

Open the online application form button.

Contact us

If you have any queries about entering, categories, dates, awards ceremony or require any further information please get in touch.

Marketing and Engagement team
P: (09) 470 1200 | E: [email protected]

It’s time we recognise the people who are making a difference to Northland’s environment. We want to celebrate you, our community of Taitokerau.

Awards winners